

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 5, 2022

CONTACT
Matt Vanover
(217) 341-3849
Matt.Vanover@caepnet.org

CAEP Names New Officers to Board of Directors

Reappoints Meyer as Accreditation Council Chair

WASHINGTON – The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced the election of four new officers, and the reappointment of Jayne Meyer to the Board's Executive Committee. Yuhang Rong has been elected as Chair, Patricia Alvarez McHatton has been elected Vice Chair, Anthony Graham has been elected as Secretary and Lawrence Paska has been elected Treasurer. The terms for the newly elected officers runs through June, 30, 2024.

In addition to the election of the new officers for the CAEP Board of Directors, Jayne Meyer was reelected to serve as the Accreditation Council Chair. Her term runs through June 30, 2025.

"We are pleased to announce the election of our new executive officers to the CAEP Board of Directors," said CAEP President Christopher A. Koch. "All of these officers have experience on the CAEP Board of Directors and share a passion for educator preparation. Their diverse and distinguished backgrounds will help guide CAEP into the future."

CAEP Executive Officers:

Yuhang Rong—Chair: Dr. Yuhang Rong serves as the Associate Vice President for Global Affairs at the University of Connecticut (UConn). He represents UConn as its Senior Leader at the global research university consortium, Universitas 21, and oversees the State of Connecticut partnership with the German state of Baden-Wuertteemberg. He is a member of the advisory board for Queen Rania Teacher Academy in Jordan. Formerly, he was the Assistant Dean for the Neag School of Education at UConn. He also holds the position of Associate Professor in Residence in Educational Leadership at UConn. He has worked in the fields of student affairs, international affairs, and academic affairs in higher education, as well as in the area of teacher quality enhancement in K-12 education. He served as the Chair of the Global Diversity Committee for the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE). He has worked for EPP's, and state departments of education and higher education, and has led CAEP site visit teams to prominent American and international EPP's and was previously a member of CAEP's Accreditation Council. He has reviewed, authored and/or administered grants from the United States Department of Education, including the Title II Teacher Quality Enhancement Grant and the Transition to Teaching Grant. Dr. Rong earned his B.A. in English from East China Normal University, his M.A. in Education Administration from West Virginia University, and his Ph.D. in Professional Higher Education Administration from the University of Connecticut, with partial completion from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Patricia Alvarez McHatton—Vice Chair: Dr. Patricia Alvarez McHatton is the Senior VP of the Branch Alliance for Educator Diversity (BranchED). In this role, Dr. Alvarez McHatton oversees all MSI EPP faculty and leader-facing programming, including capacity building and professional learning initiatives. Most notably, she oversees BranchED's Inclusive Rigorous Content Hub & Professional Learning Center. Working alongside the President and CEO, Dr. Alvarez McHatton helps to establish key organizational objectives, secure and ensure the best use of organizational resources, and raise awareness of the impact of minority serving institutions (MSIs) in the field of educator preparation.

Dr. Alvarez McHatton earned her bachelor's degree in Special Education Behavior Disorders and Learning Disabilities, a master's in Special Education Varying Exceptionalities and a Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Special Education and Urban Education, from the University of South Florida.

- Anthony Graham—Secretary: Dr. Anthony Graham is the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at Winston-Salem State University. Prior to this position, Graham was a tenured full Professor and dean of the College of Education at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University. During his tenure as a professor, he has published a variety of book chapters, peer-reviewed journal articles, and co-authored a book. He has also procured several sponsored research grants totaling approximately \$11 million, including awards from the National Science Foundation and the United States Department of Education. As a scholar, Graham leverages Critical Race Theory to examine the academic experiences of African American male students and the construction of their academic and ethnic identities in K-20 educational environments. Dr. Graham holds a Ph.D. and a Master of Education from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and a Bachelor of Governor Roy Cooper's DRIVE (Developing a Representative and Inclusive Vision for Education) Task Force and co-chair of the University of North Carolina System Educator Preparation Advisory Group.
- Lawrence Paska—Treasurer: Dr. Lawrence Paska is the Executive Director of the National Council for the Social Studies in Silver Spring, Maryland. He has served in numerous roles as a middle school teacher, district and regional administrator, state policy coordinator, and adjunct professor and on education and community boards including as past president of the New York State Council for the Social Studies and current secretary of the National Coalition for History. Dr. Paska holds a Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction from the University at Albany (NY), a Master of Arts in Teaching and a Bachelor of Arts in History from Union College (NY), is recognized as a Certified Association Executive (CAE) by ASAE The American Society of Association Executives.
- Jayne Meyer—Accreditation Council Chair: Dr. Jayne Meyer recently retired as Director of Teacher Education and Certification at the Alabama State Department of Education's Office of Teaching and Leading, working with EPPs at 27 of the state's public and private colleges and universities. Meyer earned her doctoral degree from the University of Alabama and has taught high school and college students. Following her career in teaching, Meyer joined the Alabama State Department of Education, where she worked on a first-year teacher training program and later served as a teacher education advisor.

_

The CAEP Board of Directors is responsible for creating CAEP policy, handling appointments to the Accreditation Council and various committees, and reviewing the performance and activities of CAEP. The Board is also responsible for approving the organization's annual budget and independent audits.

CAEP is a national accrediting body for educator preparation recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a uniform accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Currently, approximately 650 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP accreditation system.

###

The **Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation** (<u>www.CAEPnet.org</u>) advances equity and excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.