



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 14, 2022 CONTACT Matt Vanover (217) 341-3849 | <u>Matt.Vanover@caepnet.org</u>

33 Educator Prep Providers from 16 States, Puerto Rico and Jordan Recognized for Leadership in Continuous Improvement in honor of Frank Murray

Murray providers produce nearly 7,500 high quality graduates ready to make positive impact on P-12 learning

WASHINGTON – The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced today that 33 providers from 16 states, Puerto Rico and Jordan received recognition for their leadership and commitment to continuous improvement. The recipients of the 2022 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement provided evidence and data trends to achieve accreditation with no stipulations or areas for improvement.

The Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement is named after the founding President of the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and TEAC. Murray was the founding President of TEAC, served as Chairman of the Board for TEAC and was also an initial member of the CAEP Board of Directors. He was a key advocate for a single set of educator preparation standards to unify the profession and was instrumental in the merger that created CAEP. He also served as the Dean of the College of Education at the University of Delaware from 1979 to 1995.

"Frank Murray was passionate about education preparation, a prominent leader in our profession, and an advocate for evidence to improve education. The providers that CAEP is recognizing are committed to continuous improvement and preparing their students to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate," said Yuhang Rong Chair of the CAEP Board of Directors. "CAEP Accreditation is a sign of commitment to quality through purposeful use of evidence. The Murray Leadership Recognition recipients should be proud of their accomplishments."

Recipients of the 2022 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement are selected from the educator preparation providers (EPPs) that were granted accreditation by CAEP at the initial level from the previous year, who provided a full complement of evidence with demonstrated data trends and no plans. Recipients had no stipulations or areas for improvement. Providers selected for recognition advance equity and excellence in educator preparation through purposeful use of self-study procedures and evidence-based reporting that assure quality and support continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 learning. These EPPs use inquiry and assessments to establish quality assurance systems to drive improvement.

"This fourth class to receive the Murray Recognition represents the diversity and innovation that comes with CAEP accreditation. Small, large, public, private, faith-based, and historically minority serving," said CAEP President Christopher Koch. "These recipients reflect the innovation that CAEP affords in achieving excellence, by meeting the standards in a variety of ways, for the diverse populations they serve."

CAEP accreditation serves the dual purposes of accountability and continuous improvement. 471 educator preparation providers in 45 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Jordan and the United Arab Emirates have been accredited under the CAEP Standards. The CAEP accreditation process evaluates the performance of providers and focuses particularly on whether candidates will be prepared, for the challenging responsibilities that educators face in our classrooms. Approximately, 600 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including many previously accredited through former standards.

Frank Murray Recognition for Continuous Improvement

Appalachian State University-North Carolina Austin Peay University—Tennessee Averett University-Virginia Bloomsburg University—Pennsylvania Brigham Young University-Utah California University of Pennsylvania Clemson University—South Carolina Delta State University-Mississippi East Tennessee State University Eastern Connecticut State University Emory and Henry College-Virginia Furman University—South Carolina Georgian Court University—New Jersey Kutztown University of Pennsylvania Lehman College-CUNY—New York Mary Baldwin University-Virginia Middle Tennessee State University Milligan University—Tennessee

Montclair State University-New Jersey Oral Roberts University-Oklahoma Queen Rania Teacher Academy—Jordan Rutgers University—New Jersey Southern Connecticut State University Taylor University—Indiana The Citadel-The Military College of South Carolina The University of North Carolina at Greensboro University of Kansas University of North Georgia University of Pikeville-Kentucky University of Puerto Rico at Bayamon Virginia Commonwealth University Webster University-Missouri Western Carolina University-North Carolina

###

The **Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation** (<u>www.CAEPnet.org</u>) advances equity and excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.